Inaugural Lecture of Isabelle Le Breton-Miller: Journey to the Heart of Family Businesses

Isabelle Le Breton-Miller at the inaugural lecture

On March 20, Isabelle Le Breton-Miller, Professor of management and Chair in Succession and Family Enterprise at HEC Montreal, delivered an inaugural lecture. Entitled Journey to the heart of family businesses1, the lecture was held at Le Cercle restaurant at HEC Montréal, for the benefit of the university community.

As part of this presentation, she shared her reflections on her career and on the practice of management, including the origins and reason of her growing interest for family businesses, the milestones of her career as well as future prospects in her field of predilection.

Her research, teaching and publications focus on the strategies, organizational challenges, governance structures, and succession processes of family enterprises. Her book co-authored with Danny Miller, Managing for the Long Run: Lessons in Competitive Advantage from Great Family Businesses (HBSP), translated into six languages, has been recognized by the Family Business Review (2012) and the Academy of Management Learning Education (2015) as one of the three classics published in the last 25 years in the field of family business.

For more information (in French):

Le Breton-Miller, I. (2019). Voyage au cœur des entreprises familiales, Les cahiers des leçons inaugurales, HEC Montréal, 20 mars 2019, 36 p.

1Original title: Voyage au coeur des entreprises familiales

2019-05-06T10:29:16+00:00 21 March 2019|

Leçon inaugurale d’Isabelle Le Breton-Miller : Voyage au cœur des entreprises familiales

Isabelle Le Breton-Miller lors de la leçon inaugurale

Le 20 mars dernier se tenait la leçon inaugurale d’Isabelle Le Breton-Miller, professeure titulaire en management et titulaire de la Chaire sur la relève et sur l’entreprise familiale à HEC Montréal. Intitulée Voyage au cœur des entreprises familiales, la leçon a eu lieu au restaurant Le Cercle à HEC Montréal, à l’intention de la communauté universitaire.

Dans le cadre de cette présentation, elle a fait part de ses réflexions sur sa carrière et sur la pratique de la gestion, soit entre autres sur l’origine et la raison de son engouement pour les entreprises familiales, les étapes marquantes de son parcours ainsi que les perspectives d’avenir dans son domaine de prédilection.

Ses travaux de recherche, son enseignement et ses publications se concentrent sur les stratégies, le design des organisations, les structures de gouvernance et la relève au sein des entreprises familiales. Son livre coécrit avec Danny Miller, Managing for the Long Run: Lessons in Competitive Advantage from Great Family Businesses (HBSP), traduit en six langues, s’est vu reconnaître par la Family Business Review (2012) et par l’Academy of Management Learning Education (2015) comme l’un des trois classiques publiés au cours des 25 dernières années dans le domaine de l’entreprise familiale.

Pour en savoir plus :

Le Breton-Miller, I. (2019). Voyage au cœur des entreprises familiales, Les cahiers des leçons inaugurales, HEC Montréal, 20 mars 2019, 36 p.

2019-05-06T10:29:16+00:00 21 mars 2019|