On June 5, at the 17th edition of the Business Transfer Awards, six Quebec companies were honored in the family and entrepreneurial succession categories. The competition, organized by PwC Canada, Familles en affaires – HEC Montréal and their partners, recognizes the success of private Quebec companies that have successfully completed the succession process, while ensuring their longevity and growth. Chaired this year by Serge Gendron, Executive Chairman of AGF Group, the event was attended by over 180 guests.

Congratulations to the medalists!

The Winners of this 17th Edition

Family Transfer

Gold: Construction Nivo-Tech

Founded in 1990 by Jocelyn Lapointe and two partners, Construction Nivo-Tech is a family business specializing in new home construction, renovation and, since the early 2000s, the post-disaster sector. Following the unexpected death of its founder in 2018, his daughter Mélissa Lapointe and son-in-law David Audy left their respective jobs in accounting and civil engineering to jointly assume the management of the company. With the support of the existing team, they have maintained the solid foundations that have contributed to its reputation for excellence for almost 35 years.

Silver: Beauté Star

Beauté Star was founded in 1978 by France Bédard Bourdon and Gaétan Bourdon, resulting from the merger of Étoile de beauté and Ulric Bédard ltée. Since its inception, Beauté Star has grown both in terms of territorial coverage and product and service offering, currently counting nearly 240 employees and 24 boutiques. Now run by the second generation, co-presidents Marie-Christine and Marie-Danielle Bourdon, Beauté Star remains a leader in the hairdressing industry through innovation and audacity, and changed its name in 2020 to reflect this vision.

Bronze: ACME Sprinklers

Les Gicleurs Acme, a family business founded in 1967 by brothers Georges and Jean-Marie Péloquin, specializes in the installation of sprinkler systems and is dedicated to protecting businesses and homes from fire. Since 2017, the company has been run by the third generation, CEO and chief engineer Yanik Péloquin. With some 50 employees, he is the owner alongside co-presidents Sandra and Mathilde Péloquin and fire protection mechanic Gabriel Péloquin. Since then, the company has experienced exponential growth, while more recently focusing on the digital and sustainable transformation of its operations.

Entrepreneurial Transfer

Gold: Aliments Morehouse

Silver: Unicel Architectural

Bronze: JAS Filtration

Le 5 juin dernier, lors de la 17e édition du concours Les Médaillés de la relève, six entreprises québécoises ont été mises à l’honneur dans les catégories relève familiale et entrepreneuriale. Depuis 2006, ce concours, organisé par PwC Canada, Familles en affaires – HEC Montréal et leurs partenaires, vise à saluer le succès des entreprises privées québécoises qui ont réussi brillamment leur processus de relève tout en assurant leur pérennité et leur croissance. Présidé cette année par Serge Gendron, président exécutif du conseil d’administration du Groupe AGF, l’événement a rassemblé plus de 180 invités.

Félicitations aux médaillés!

Les lauréats de cette 17e édition

Relève familiale

Or : Construction Nivo-Tech

Fondée en 1990 par Jocelyn Lapointe et deux partenaires, Construction Nivo-Tech est une entreprise familiale spécialisée dans la construction de maisons neuves, la rénovation et, depuis le début des années 2000, le secteur de l’après-sinistre. Après le décès inattendu de son fondateur en 2018, sa fille Mélissa Lapointe et son gendre David Audy ont quitté leurs emplois respectifs en comptabilité et en génie civil pour en assumer conjointement la direction. Grâce au soutien de l’équipe en place, ils ont maintenu les bases solides qui ont contribué à sa réputation d’excellence pendant près de 35 ans.

Argent : Beauté Star

L’entreprise Beauté Star a été fondée en 1978 par France Bédard Bourdon et Gaétan Bourdon, résultant de la fusion des maisons Étoile de beauté et Ulric Bédard ltée. Depuis sa création, Beauté Star a connu une croissance tant au niveau de la couverture territoriale que de l’offre de ses produits et services, comptant actuellement près de 240 employés et 24 boutiques. Aujourd’hui dirigée par la deuxième génération, soit les coprésidentes Marie-Christine et Marie-Danielle Bourdon, Beauté Star demeure chef de file dans l’industrie de la coiffure en faisant preuve d’innovation et d’audace, et a changé de nom en 2020 pour refléter cette vision.

Bronze : Les Gicleurs ACME

Les Gicleurs ACME, une entreprise familiale fondée en 1967 par les frères Georges et Jean-Marie Péloquin, est spécialisée en installation de systèmes de gicleurs et a pour mission de protéger les entreprises et les résidences contre les incendies. Depuis 2017, l’entreprise est dirigée par la troisième génération, soit le PDG et ingénieur en chef Yanik Péloquin. Comptant une cinquantaine d’employés, il en est le propriétaire aux côtés des coprésidentes Sandra et Mathilde Péloquin et le mécanicien en protection incendie Gabriel Péloquin. L’entreprise connait depuis une croissance exponentielle, tout en misant plus récemment sur la transformation numérique et durable de ses opérations.

Relève entrepreneuriale

Or : Aliments Morehouse

Argent : Unicel Architectural

Bronze : JAS Filtration